Last Night’s Quest To See A Show Dream

Last night, I dreamt that I was relaxing poolside at a luxury hotel.  It was a bright, sunny day.  I was wearing a bikini and a sun hat, both of which were black.  I had a book sitting beside me but I can’t remember what it was.  Several of my friends were also there, swimming and relaxing.  Amy was sitting beside me and, as she looked up at the blue sky, she said something about how she couldn’t believe how nice the day was, especially after “everything that’s happened.”

I told her that things always work out and then I lay back and I closed my eyes for a few minutes, enjoying the heat of the sun.  When I did this, the dream suddenly switched to an overhead shot of me and my friends, enjoying the day.

When I opened my eyes, everyone had left and I was alone by the pool.  There a note sitting on top of my book, from Amy.  It said everyone had gone to see the show and they didn’t want to interrupt me.  “Why wouldn’t you want to interrupt me?” I muttered to myself.  At first, I thought that maybe I could go catch up to them but then I realized that I didn’t even know what “the show” referred to.  So, I decided to just sit out by the pool and wait for everyone to return.

The dream then switched to restaurant, where I (now fully dressed) was sitting in a booth, across from Amy and Evelyn.  I asked them what show they had seen.  I can’t remember what the title of it was but they both told me it was really bad.  “I still want to see it,” I said.  “No, you don’t,” they told me and I started to get annoyed because they didn’t seem to understand that I simply had to see the show.

I was then walking down a windy city street at night, still annoyed that they had seen a show without me.  I saw a van sitting across the street from me.  It was covered in wet newspapers.

I was then sitting in my private office, looking up theaters online and trying to figure out what everyone had seen while I was down at the pool.

Then, Jeff and I were sitting in a theater, watching a really bad musical.  Jeff whispered to me, “Why are we watching this?”  I whispered back, “Because no one else is.”

As far as I can remember, that’s when the dream ended.