Last Night’s Tornado Dream

Last night, I dreamt that I was back in college, living in an apartment.  I was in the complex’s laundry room, doing laundry.  I decided that I might as well go ahead and wash what I was wearing so I took off my shoes, stripped down to my bra and panties, and tossed my clothes into the washer.  After I did that, I suddenly realized that the laundry room door was wide open so I quickly walked over to it, shut it, and locked it.  I then sat on top of the dryer, and listened to the washing machine as it filled with water.  As soon as the spin cycle started, I heard a low rumbling of thunder.

Someone tried to open the door but, because the door was locked, they could only turn the door knob.  “Just a minute,” I shouted.

I then look back at the washing machine and I realized that it was going to be more than a minute and I was like, “Why did I get undressed?  What was I thinking?”

There was more thunder and suddenly, I could hear the wind howling and the sound of a heavy rain falling.  I realized that the door to my apartment was unlocked and that the window might also be open but I didn’t want to have to run through the rain, barefoot and in only my underwear, to go check.

I looked back at the washing machine and I realized it was nowhere near done.  I sighed and again asked myself what I was thinking.

I got hopped off the dryer and walked around the laundry room, looking for anything I could wear but I didn’t find anything.  After a few minutes, I realized that even my shoes had apparently vanished.  Finally, I decided that I would just have to run through the rain in my current undressed state but, as I walked up to the laundry room door, I suddenly heard the tornado sirens going off.  Realizing that there was a tornado in the area and that my apartment was probably going to be destroyed regardless, I sat down in a corner of the laundry room.

As I listened to wind, rain, thunder, sirens, and the sound of the washing machine, I said, “I wish I had something to read.”

Suddenly, I heard someone knocking on the door.  I realized they were probably looking for shelter from the tornado but, at the same time, I didn’t know who they were.  I walked over to the door and I said, “Listen, I’m going to let you in but I’m like half-naked right now, okay?”

There wasn’t any reply and I started to worry that maybe the tornado had gotten whoever was looking for shelter.  I reached down to unlock the door but then I realized that the washing machine was no longer making any noise.  I turned around to look at it….

And that’s all I remember.