Last Night’s Renaissance Faire Dream

Last night, I dreamt that I was at a renaissance faire with my sisters, my boyfriend, and my best friend in the entire world, Evelyn.  We were all dressed up in typical renaissance faire costumes.  I was wearing a black corset bodice and a long dark red skirt.  We were all sitting on a grassy hill watching a live chess match.  Actors playing the king and the queen would move around other actors who were dressed up to resemble pawns, knights, and bishops.  There was a huge crowd of people watching the chess match and, with every move that the king or queen made, the crowd would loudly boo.

Finally, the actor playing the king shouted, “I’m doing the best I can!”

Right after he said that, I realized that there was a group of old women sitting slightly in front of me and they kept looking over their shoulders and glaring at me.

“What’s wrong with them?” I asked.

Evelyn leaned over to me and said, “You forgot to lace up your corset.”

And that’s when I woke up.