Last Night’s Weird Party Dream

Last night, I dreamt that I was having a huge party in my backyard.  I had invited everyone that I knew and then they invited everyone who they knew and, as a result, the backyard was crowded with a mix of familiar faces and strangers.  At first, I enjoyed the party but, about halfway through the dream, I started to feel annoyed and I wanted everyone to leave.  I kept telling people that I needed their help in getting everyone out of my backyard but everyone thought I was joking.

So, I left my own party.  I walked around to the front of the house, I got in my car, and I drove off.  Soon, I found myself driving down a long highway in the middle of the night.  I saw a sign welcoming me to Oklahoma.  I kept driving until I saw another sign welcoming me to Arkansas.

Finally, in the early morning hours, I pulled up in front of my grandmother’s old house in Ft. Smith.  I went inside the house (which was apparently deserted but still had all of my grandmother’s old furniture in it).  I walked into the guest bedroom, where I used to stay whenever I visited.  I looked under the bed and found hundreds of books that I had apparently put there years before.  I started to pull out all the books, planning on taking them home with me.  However, as I kept grabbing at the books, I realized that there were so many of them that I’d actually have to make several trips.

I decided to worry about the books later.  Instead, I left my grandmother’s house and I walked around her old neighborhood but none of the houses looked familiar to me.

Eventually, I found myself back in front of my grandmother’s house.  I got in my car and I drove way.

And that’s when I woke up.