Last Night’s Messy And Weird Dream About Judith

Last night, I dreamt that my best friend Evelyn and I were in a clothing store in downtown Dallas. Everything was very expensive but Evelyn was looking for something very specific. While Evelyn was looking through the dresses, I walked over to a display of jewelry. I slipped a few items into my purse.

Suddenly, the woman working the front register looked up at me and said, “Lisa Marie, is that you?”

I looked over at her and tried to figure out if I knew her.

“It’s me,” she said, “Judith.”

That’s when I remembered that Judith was someone who I had known when I was in high school. I walked over to the register and we started to talk about high school and what had happened in our lives since. Suddenly, Judith started crying and I asked her what was wrong. Judith grabbed my hand and said that she appreciated everything that I had done for her in school. She said that she understood how strong I was to stand up for her. That’s when I started crying and I told her that there was no way I wasn’t going to stand up for her. Suddenly, Judith reached under the counter and grabbed several pictures, all of the two of us in high school. I was looking at the pictures when Judith suddenly asked me if I remembered someone named Mike. I said that I knew a lot of guys named Mike in high school.

Suddenly, Judith’s whole demeanor changed. She stepped back from me, somewhat stiffly. She glared at me and said, “You knew a lot of guys in high school.”

Realizing that Judith was apparently no longer happy to see me and worried something bad was going to happen, Evelyn and I left the shop. Outside of the shop, there was a huge statue of three horses. Evelyn and I stopped to look at the statue. A man walked by and said, “Don’t get used to it, it’s going back home.”

Evelyn and I then walked down the street. Soon, we realized we had walked too far and now, we were in a run-down neighborhood. All of the houses looked like shacks and had cars sitting out in the front lawn. There were people sitting out in their driveways, drinking beer, and they would shout at Evelyn and I as we walked by.

“Should we turn around?” I asked Evelyn.

Evelyn shook her head and said she wasn’t scared of any of these people. She said her father was the mayor of Dallas so we were safe no matter what.

Suddenly, the scene changed and I was sitting in a restaurant, having a very nice dinner with my sisters and some of my friends. I was telling everyone about running into Judith but everyone told me that I had never mentioned Judith before and that they didn’t think I’d actually gone to high school with her. I explained that Judith had pictures.

Then, I was back home. I wanted to change clothes but I was upset because I couldn’t find the shirt that I wanted to wear. Jeff offered to buy me a new shirt. “I don’t want a new shirt,” I said, “I want my shirt!”

And then I woke up.

(Note: In real life, I’ve known a few people named Judith but none of them looked like or acted like the Judith in my dream. Also Evelyn’s father is not the mayor of Dallas, though her great-grandfather did run for mayor twice.)